When She Was Wicked

Honeycote Series, Book 1

“Sensual and solid, this debut is a story demanding to be read. The characters are believable and relatable, and Barton smartly blends issues of morality and Regency era social class with passion and excitement.”
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)


A dressmaker in London’s busiest shop, Miss Anabelle Honeycote overhears the ton’s steamiest secrets—and (occasionally) uses them to her advantage. It isn’t something she’s proud of, but the reluctant blackmailer needs the money to care for her gravely ill mother. To make up for her misdeeds, Anabelle keeps to a firm set of rules:

  • Never request payment from someone who cannot afford it.
  • Never reveal the secrets of a paying client.
  • Never enter into any form of social interaction with a client.

Her list keeps her (somewhat) honest—until she encounters Owen Sherbourne, the Duke of Huntford. Not only does Owen nip Anabelle’s extortion plans in the bud, the devilishly handsome Duke soon has the sexy seamstress dreaming of more than silks and satins. With Owen, Anabelle enjoys pleasures she never imagined. . . until a scandal from the past resurfaces. Now her rules could mean his family’s ruin. Owen’s searing kisses carry the promise of passion, but how will he react when Anabelle’s most devastating secret is finally revealed?


2011 Golden Heart® Winner
2010 Golden Pen Contest Winner
2010 Golden Palm Contest Winner

Praise for
When She Was Wicked

“Sensual and solid, this debut is a story demanding to be read.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Stunning and heart melting […] Anne Barton has succeeded in writing the perfect debut.”
— harlequinjunkie.com

“Delightfully smart, fun, [and] fast-paced…”
— RT Book Reviews

“Irresistibly cheer-worthy.”
— BookPage

“Break out the bubbly for Anne Barton’s delightful debut!”
— Vicky Dreiling, bestselling author of A Season of Sin

“One of the most promising new authors in this genre.”
— Long and Short Reviews

“Anne Barton’s cast of characters is charming and witty.”
— Tiffany Clare, author of Wicked Nights with a Proper Lady

International Editions





Back to Top

Other Books in the "Honeycote Series" series

Once She Was Tempted

Once She Was Tempted

Book 2

read more »

Scandalous Summer Nights

Scandalous Summer Nights

Book 3

read more »

One Wild Winter's Eve

One Wild Winter’s Eve

Book 4

read more »

To All the Rakes I’ve Loved Before

tie-in/standalone novella

read more »

Back to the Bookshelf