Once She Was Tempted

Honeycote Series, Book 2

“A delightful new voice in historical romance!”
Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author


…or is it? The risqué painting owned by Benjamin Elliot, the earl of Foxburn, features a stunning beauty with sapphire eyes, golden hair, and creamy skin. Ben recognizes this particular English rose the instant he meets her—though she’s wearing considerably more clothing. In person, the demure debutante is even more irresistible…

In desperate need of money for her sick mother, Daphne Honeycote had posed for two scandalous portraits. Now she must hide her secret to save the Honeycote family name. Ben’s possession of one painting makes him an insufferable thorn in her side—and yet he may be her best chance at finding the canvas’s companion. As she becomes drawn to the dark-tempered earl, can Daphne risk laying bare the secrets of her heart?

Praise for
Once She Was Tempted

“Anne Barton is a delightful new voice in historical romance! Once She Was Tempted is a charming read, with characters who are easy to love—a wounded earl and a determined heroine whose heart won’t be denied.”
— Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author

“Fans of historical romance, especially books by Tessa Dare and Grace Burrowes, will enjoy Barton, who is proving to be an enticing new voice.”
— Booklist

“Barton follows up When She Was Wicked with a delightful tale filled with sexual sizzle and banter. …Barton’s strong prose and wit will have readers clamoring for more.”
— RT Book Reviews

International Editions





Back to Top

Other Books in the "Honeycote Series" series

When She Was Wicked

When She Was Wicked

Book 1

read more »

Scandalous Summer Nights

Scandalous Summer Nights

Book 3

read more »

One Wild Winter's Eve

One Wild Winter’s Eve

Book 4

read more »

To All the Rakes I’ve Loved Before

tie-in/standalone novella

read more »

Back to the Bookshelf